Invest in Australia Keynote Address by Bruce Miller AO, Chair, FIRB, and insights from Korean Investors

Last week, the Australia-Korea Business Council, working in conjunction with Australian Trade and Investment Commission (Austrade), held the hugely successful ‘Invest in Australia’ event. 

Korea has been recently identified as Australia’s fourth largest trading partner, with opportunities for increased investment from Korean partners in many expanding and emerging Australian sectors. With strong interest from Korean investors in sectors including agribusiness, resources & energy, financial services, science & technology, defence, and education, an understanding of the investment landscape in Australia is essential.

Linking key business and policy leaders in Seoul and Sydney, the event was a valuable opportunity to hear from Mr Bruce Miller AO, Chair of FIRB. Our sincerest gratitude for his informative insights into the FIRB review process and policy and detailed responses to a myriad of questions from our audience. We were also joined by Mr Kijune Kim, Executive VP of Korea Zinc for presenting on the case study of Korea Zinc’s investments in Australia and sharing of the challenges which they’ve turned into opportunities for Korea Zinc. Our panel discussion moderated by Jessica Robinson, also included Linh Pham from EG Funds Management and Elizabeth Cox from Australian Trade and Investment Commission (Austrade) with questions broadcasted across both countries.

Our further thanks to our Deputy Chairman and sponsor of this event, John Walker AM from Eastpoint Partners LimitedRonald Green and Investment Commissioner, Austrade (Seoul) for co-hosting the event and PwC Australia for hosting this event in Sydney.

Another wonderful, successful event – the AKBC are proud to have organised this important, ground breaking event that will hopefully enable greater and increased investment flows between Australia and Korea. 


Speaker Presentations

Korea – Australia Investment Opportunities, presented by Mr. Ron Green, Trade and Investment Commissioner, Austrade.


Bruce Miller

Mr Bruce Miller AO, Chair, Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) 

Mr Miller was appointed as the Chair of the Foreign Investment Review Board in April 2022.  Mr Miller has extensive experience as a senior leader in the public and private sectors. 

Mr Miller occupied senior positions in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, and the Office of National Assessments.  Mr Miller served as Australian Ambassador to Japan from 2011 to 2017. 

Mr Miller holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Law from the University of Sydney. 


Kijune Kim

Mr Kijune Kim, Executive Vice President, Korea Zinc 

Kijune joined Korea Zinc in September 2022 as Executive Vice President in charge of Sustainability Management Division (ESG), covering environmental issues, social responsibility, and transparent and sound corporate governance. 

Kijune spent almost three decades of his career at the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy of Korea. Among others, he had valuable experience working as Director of Renewable Energy Division and as chief negotiator of many free trade agreement (FTA) negotiations. 

He lived six years in Paris working as a Diplomat at Korea’s Delegation to the OECD dealing with trade, industry, green growth and energy topics. Kijune also served as Head of Energy Policy Division at the International Energy Agency from 2012 to 2015. 

His resume also includes periods with the Korean Federation of Textile Industries and the Korean Navy. 

Kijune has a BA in Economics at the Seoul National University. He has MA in Economics and JD degree at the University of Maryland, USA. He is a member of the New York Bar Association since 2007. 

Linh Pham

Ms Linh Pham, Fund Manager, EG Funds Management 

EG Funds Management (EG) is an independent Australian real estate fund manager with $5.1 billion under management and a $3.9 development pipeline. Founded in 2000, EG’s data-driven approach and ESG focus has realised two decades of proven track record in real estate investments. EG’s services for investors seeking risk-adjusted returns in APAC include institutional investments and management and property technology. 

Linh leads EG’s Delta Fund in delivering above benchmark returns and environmental and social outcomes underpinned by a unique impact framework aligned to the UN Sustainable Development Goals. 

John Walker AM

Mr John Walker AM 

Deputy Chairman 

John is Chairman of Eastpoint Partners Limited (Eastpoint). Established in 2020, Eastpoint provides advice and executive support to companies, governments, investors, and individuals in the areas of energy transition, infrastructure, ESG and new technologies. 

John is also non-executive Chairman of KREDO Holdings a BlackRock company developing substantial renewable energy projects in Korea. 

Prior to establishing Eastpoint John was the Executive Chairman of Infrastructure, Utilities and Renewables Asia for Macquarie Capital, the Chairman of Macquarie Group of Companies Korea, and Chair of Asia for Macquarie Capital. 

In 2000, John established Macquarie’s Korean business with only 3 staff. Macquarie is now a  leading major investor into core and energy infrastructure in Korea. 

Under John’s leadership Macquarie significantly expanded its presence in infrastructure throughout the region with roles in many emerging and developed market PPPs, M&A, and unlisted and listed capital raisings. During this period Macquarie advised on the largest ever hostile takeover defence in HK and the largest cross border M&A into Australia and closed the first ever Philippines Infrastructure fund. 

John has also previously held several CEO positions in Government in Australia and led large private infrastructure projects. He became a Member of the Order of Australia in 1999 for services to economic reform and design of the transportation plan for the Sydney Olympics 2000. He has also received a Presidential citation in Korea for his contribution to the development of Korean capital markets. 

John is also the Chair of the AKBC Financial Services sub-committee.