AKBC Announces Changes to the Executive Committee
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-18536,single-format-standard,bridge-core-2.5.9,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,transparent_content,qode-theme-ver-24.4,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.4.2,vc_responsive

AKBC Announces Changes to the Executive Committee

9 April 2018

The Australia Korea Business Council (AKBC) today announced the appointment of two new Executive Committee (Committee) members.

Professor You-il Lee and Simon Yoo will join the Executive Committee on 1 May.

AKBC Executive Director Liz Griffin said: “I am delighted to welcome Professor Lee and Mr Yoo to the Executive Committee. Their extensive experience in education, policy and finance will deepen the Committee’s existing skills and expertise.”

Professor You-il Lee brings immense experience in academia and research to the Committee having worked as a political economist and advisor to companies and governments on a range of Asian business, environment and policy issues for more than 20 years. He is currently the Associate Head, School of Management and Associate Professor of International Business at the University of South Australia Business School.

“I am excited to play a key role in helping AKBC develop its Korean corporate intelligence programs and helping AKBC enhance its profile nationally and internationally” Professor Lee said.

Simon Yoo joins the Committee with more than 25 years of experience in professional accounting and the financial services sectors, previously working in Korea as a Partner at EY and Senior Vice President at Meirtz Financial Group, a publicly listed financial services group, where he has held positions as Head of Internal Audit, Head of Compliance, and the Group Chief Risk Officer. Since returning to Australia in 2013, he has served as Executive Director and Head of the Korean Business Network for the Oceania region at EY.

Mr Yoo said he was honoured by the appointment and looked forward to addressing the challenges that must be navigated in order to further the Australia Korea bilateral relationship.

AKBC also announced the retirement of Kyu Bang, Rachel Charles, Robert De Boer and Peter Grey from the Executive Committee.

Liz Griffin expressed her sincere appreciation on behalf of the Executive Committee and the Council’s membership for their service to Australia Korea business relations.

“I would like to thank Kyu Bang, Rachel Charles, Robert De Boer and Peter Grey for their service, commitment and contribution to the Committee.

“Under their leadership and guidance, AKBC has strengthened the ties between the business communities of Australia and Korea and promoted economic cooperation, trade investment, education between the two countries.”